Windows Guides: Enthusiasts Guide to Intel’s New Processors

By Rich Robinson for Windows Guides

Enthusiasts Guide to Intel’s New Processors

Ivy Bridge: Intel’s New Processor Features (3rd Generation i3, i5, and i7)

Intel has finally released the new 3rd generation series of Intel Core processors. This 3rd generation of the Intel Core processors brings many new features and improvements over the earlier 2nd generation of processors. In this article, I am going to point out some of these exciting features that every computer enthusiast ought to know.

What is the name of the new processor series from Intel?

Ivy Bridge is the codename of Intel’s new processor family. Ivy Bridge supersedes the earlier Sandy Bridge processor family. While Sandy Bridge is considered as the 2nd generation Intel Core processor family, Ivy Bridge is the 3rd generation of the Intel Core processors.

What is the main difference between Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge?

The main difference is the the process architecture. Ivy Bridge uses the 22 nm architecture while Sandy Bridge uses 32 nm architecture. This means that Ivy Bridge can pack more electronic components in a smaller area, giving better power efficiency and performance.

Intel has also introduced a new 3D transistor technology in the Ivy Bridge processors. They are also called tri-gate transistors. According to Intel, this new architectural design would result in Ivy Bridge providing better performance while consuming significantly less power compared to an equivalent Sandy Bridge processor.

Article continued here

This excerpt appears with the permission of Windows Guides.

Want to get monthly tips & tricks?

Subscribe to our newsletter to get cybersecurity tips & tricks and stay up to date with the constantly evolving world of cybersecurity.

Related Articles